Morocco will host 2015 Nations Cup; South Africa host 2017

by yeEthiopiaforums

BBC: Morocco have won the right to stage the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations while South Africa will host the 2017 edition.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the executive committee of the Confederation of African Football (Caf) in Lubumbashi, DR Congo.

Morocco and South Africa were the only countries bidding to stage the tournament after DR Congo withdrew.

South Africa last hosted the Cup of Nations in 1996 while the competition went to Morocco in 1988.

The President of the South African Football Association (Safa) Kirsten Nematandani told reporters after the announcement that he was happy that they were awarded the 2017 edition.

“We are not disappointed at all, it gives us more time to prepare our national team for the event,” Nematandani said.

He continued: “This time we also want to win it on home soil.”

Morocco 2015 CAF Nations Cup South Africa host 2017

Morocco and South africa will host the 2015 and 2017

Nematandani’s Moroccan counterpart Ali Fassi Hihiri said he too was satisfied with the way things had gone.

“It’s a great day for Morocco and I am very happy,” Hihiri commented.

Morocco and South Africa were engaged in a fierce battle for the right to host the 2010 World Cup, which South Africa won in a tight 14-10 vote in Zurich in 2004.

The 2012 African Nations Cup finals are being co-hosted by Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

After that, the tournament will be played every odd year with the 2013 tournament already designated to Libya.

In other decisions taken at the Caf Executive Committee meeting, Morocco will host the 2013 edition of the African Under-17 Championship while Rwanda will host 2016 edition of the African Nations Championship (CHAN).

Related Posts

Leave a Comment