Ethiopia selected as one of the eight countries to get extra help

by ocean

(Reuters) – The U.S. government named eight countries Friday that will get extra help under the Global Health Initiative, a six-year, $63 billion aid program.

Bangladesh, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Nepal and Rwanda will receive additional technical and management resources for programs in infectious diseases, maternal and child health, family planning and building health systems.


Global health initiative

“Global Health Initiative Plus countries will provide enhanced opportunities to build upon existing public health programs; improve program performance; and work in close collaboration with partner governments, across U.S. government agencies, and with global partners,” the Health and Human Services Department and U.S. Agency for International Development said in a joint statement.

Earlier this year the administration of President Barack Obama said the initiative would focus in particular on women, newborns and children as well as AIDS, malaria, tuberculosis, maternal and child health, nutrition, family planning and reproductive health, and neglected tropical diseases.

Overall about 80 countries are getting help under the program. USAID has said about 20 countries will be named as “GHI Plus” recipients, to get accelerated attention.

Source: Reuters

Related Posts

Leave a Comment